Women in all the Lok Sabhas

Starting from the very first Lok Sabha, the proportion of women in the house has been rather low, and in the late 70s, it plummeted to its lowest at 3.9%. It was only in the 13th Lok Sabha, between 1999–2004, that for the first time a woman was chosen to be a Sitting Member. The current Lok Sabha not only has the most number of women ever, but also has two women Sitting Members.

Your browser doesn't support Inline SVG, but we use it for all our graphs and charts. Please upgrade your browser, or use the latest versions of Firefox or Chrome!

Women MPs in each Lok Sabha (%age) Click on a bar to see details about that Lok Sabha 3.9% 11.6% 1st 2nd 3rd 4th 5th 6th 7th 8th 9th 10th 11th 12th 13th 14th 15th
In the 8th Lok Sabha (19841989),
8.3% or, 45 out of 541 MPs were women
0out of5
Sitting Members were women

(Opposition Leader: Sonia Gandhi, INC)

(Speaker of the House: Meira Kumar, INC Opposition Leader: Sushma Swaraj, BJP)
The Prime Minister was a man

(Indira Gandhi, INC)

Only 311 women have been elected to the Lok Sabha in the history of India. In total, 4529 MPs have been elected in that time.

58.5%, or 182 were elected only once.

About 19%, or 59 were elected twice.

2 3 4 5 6 7 8 1 58.5% 19% 311

Sumitra Mahajan of BJP from Madhya Pradesh (70 yo)

has been elected to the Lok Sabha seven times; the maximum for a serving woman.


Vijaya Raje Scindia of BJP from Madhya Pradesh (deceased)

had been elected to the Lok Sabha eight times; the maximum for any woman.


Since Independence, 4529 people have served as MPs in the Lok Sabha. Out of these, 311 MPs, a little more than 6.8%, have been women.

The current Lok Sabha has 410 men.

The same Lok Sabha, which is also the 15th, has 63 women MPs. That means ⅕th of the women MPs in Indian history are currently serving.

4th, 5th, 7th
were the Lok Sabhas where a
female Prime Minister served
(Indira Gandhi, INC)
13th & 15th
are the Lok Sabhas in which the
Leader of the Opposition was a woman
(Sonia Gandhi, INC; Sushma Swaraj, BJP)

Women member counts of each Lok Sabha and other statistics were compiled from the official Lok Sabha website:

Total member counts of each Lok Sabha were obtained from the Election Commission:

Feel free to look at the calculations used for our data: women-all-lok-sabhas-calculations.xls