Political parties and alliances in the current Lok Sabha

After the elections in 2009, no single political party won the 272 Lok Sabha seats required to form the government. As a result, the Indian National Congress led coalition, United Progressive Alliance (UPA), came to power with outside support. They are opposed in the Lok Sabha by the National Democratic Alliance (NDA), which is led by the Bhartiya Janata Party. The Third Front, comprising the Left and major regional parties, stands as an alternative to both the UPA and NDA.

Your browser doesn't support Inline SVG, but we use it for all our graphs and charts. Please upgrade your browser, or use the latest versions of Firefox or Chrome!

United Progressive Alliance 227
National Democratic Alliance 138
Third Front 76
Other Parties 92
Independents 9
Nominated 2
Vacant 2
Outside support to UPA 63
Total seats 546
United Progressive Alliance 227
Indian National Congress 204
Nationalist Congress Party 9
Rashtriya Lok Dal 5
J & K National Conference 3
Indian Union Muslim League 2
Kerala Congress (Mani) 1
Nagaland People's Front 1
Sikkim Democratic Front 1
Bodoland People's Front 1
_ _
National Democratic Alliance 138
Bharatiya Janata Party 117
Shiv Sena 11
Shiromani Akali Dal 4
Jharkhand Mukti Morcha 2
Telengana Rashtra Samithi 2
Asom Gana Parishad 1
Haryana Janhit Congress 1
Third Front 76
Communist Party of India (M) 16
Communist Party of India 4
Revolutionary Socialist Party 2
All India Forward Bloc 2
Bahujan Samaj Party 21
Biju Janata Dal 14
All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 9
Telugu Desam Party 6
Janata Dal (Secular) 1
Marumalarchi Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 1
_ _
Other parties 92
Samajwadi Party 22
Janata Dal (United) 20
All India Trinamool Congress 19
Dravida Munnetra Kazhagam 18
Rashtriya Janata Dal 4
Jharkhand Vikas Morcha (P) 2
YSR Congress Party 2
Swabhimani Paksha 1
Bahujan Vikas Aaghadi 1
All India United Democratic Front 1
All India Majlis-e-Ittehadul Muslimeen 1
Viduthalai Chiruthaigal Katchi 1
_ _
Independents 9
_ _
Nominated 2
_ _
Data regarding the number of seats in the Lok Sabha and the house's political composition was obtained from the official Lok Sabha website on August 13, 2013:

Information about the political alliances in the Lok Sabha was compiled from the following sources: